In 1997 Edward Keelaghan, Ian Hurlstone and Alan Johnson founded what is now Noviun Architects. Current directors Andy Wiggins and Alastair Mallett were also members of the practice from those early days.

Ian and Edward became partners in the early 1980s in the practice of which Noviun was part. They have designed and guided many significant projects including new office developments, workplace fitting-out, the refurbishment of many listed buildings, keyworker and residential schemes, retail and work on hotels.

Alan’s background has spanned major commercial buildings, including working for an American architect, through to managing a design studio with schools and public buildings at its core.

Noviun has evolved as an award-winning, independent architectural practice operating nationally and providing particular design expertise across the education, healthcare, residential and leisure sectors.


Milestones have included the design of one of the country’s first fully inclusive educational campuses, to a wide range of ground-breaking buildings under BSF and the subsequent academies and free schools programmes.

History of Noviun Architects
Harris Primary School Purley Way


The practice announced as winning ‘SME of the Year’ at the 2020 SECBE Constructing Excellence awards